Faculty Profile

Eric M. Furst

William H. Severns Jr. Distinguished Chair of Chemical Engineering


  • Post-Doctorate – 2001 Institut Curie, Paris, France
  • Doctorate – 2000 Stanford University
  • Masters – 1996 Stanford University
  • Bachelors – 1995 Carnegie Mellon University

About Eric M. Furst

Eric M. Furst is the William H. Severns Jr. Distinguished Chair of Chemical Engineering. His research interests in soft matter science and engineering focus on experiments in colloid science, interfacial phenomena, and rheology. He co-authored the book Microrheology for Oxford University Press. Furst received his BS with University Honors in Chemical Engineering from Carnegie Mellon University and his PhD from Stanford University. Prior to joining the Delaware faculty in 2001, he studied biophysics at Institut Curie, Paris. Furst is the recipient of the NASA Exceptional Scientific Achievement Medal, the University Excellence in Undergraduate Advising and Mentoring Award, and the College of Engineering Excellence in Teaching Award. He is a Fellow of the American Chemical Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the Society of Rheology, and currently serves as the Treasurer of the American Institute of Physics and the American Institute of Physics Foundation.

Select Publications

For a complete listing of publications, please view the Full CV.

  1. E. M. Furst and T. M. Squires, “Microrheology,” Oxford University Press, New York (2017)
  2. Francesco Bonacci, Xavier Chateau, Eric M. Furst, Jennifer Fusier, Julie Goyon, and Anaël Lemaître, “Contact and macroscopic aging in dense colloidal suspensions,” Nat. Mater., 19, 775–780 (2020)
  3. Kathryn A. Whitaker, Lilian Hsiao, Zsigmond Varga, Michael J. Solomon, James W. Swan, and Eric M. Furst, “Colloidal gel elasticity arises from the packing of locally glassy clusters,” Nat. Comm., 10, 2237 (2019)
  4. H. Kim,Y. Cang, E. Kang, B. Graczykowski, M. Secchi, M. Montagna, R. D. Priestley, E. M. Furst, and G. Fytas, “Direct observation of polymer surface mobility via nanoparticle vibrations”, Nature Comm., 9, 2918 (2018)
  5. M. A. Woldeyes, W. Qi, V. Razinkov, E. M. Furst, and C. J. Roberts, “How well do low- and high-concentration protein interactions predict solution viscosities of monodonal antibodies?”, J. Pharm. Sci., 108, 142–154 (2019)
  6. K. Nagy-Smith, P. J. Beltramo, E. Moore, R. Tycko, E. M. Furst, and J. P. Schneider, “Molecular, local, and network-level basis for the enhanced stiffness of hydrogel networks formed from co-assembled racemic peptides: Predictions from Pauling and Corey”, ACS Central Science, 3, 586–597, (2017)
  7. P. J. Beltramo, D. Schneider, G. Fytas and E. M. Furst, “Anisotropic hypersonic phonon propagation in films of aligned ellipsoids”, Phys. Rev. Lett., 113, 205503, (2014)
  8. J. W. Swan, P. A. Vasquez, P. A. Whitson, E. M. Fincke, K. Wakata, S. H. Magnus, F. De Winne, M. R. Barratt, J. H. Agui, R. D. Green, N. R. Hall, D. Y. Bohman, C. T. Bunnell, A. P. Gast and E. M. Furst, “Multi-scale kinetics of a field-directed colloidal phase transition”, Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci., 109, 16023–16028, (2012)
  9. M. Grzelczak, J. Vermant, E. M. Furst and L. M. Liz-Marzan, “Directed self-assembly of nanoparticles”,ACS Nano4, 3591-3605, (2010)
  10. T. H. Larsen and E. M. Furst, “Microrheology of the liquid-solid transition during gelation”,Phys. Rev. Lett.100, 146001, (2008)

Patents (h3)

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Sed vel nisi tristique enim dictum feugiat rhoncus et nisl. Sed pharetra.


For a complete listing of awards, please view the Full CV.

  1. Chaire Joliot, Ecole Superieure de Physique et de Chimie Industrielles (ESPCI), Paris: 2014
  2. Exceptional Scientific Achievement Medal (NASA: 2014)
  3. Fellow (American Chemical Society: 2014)
  4. Top Application from the International Space Station (American Astronautical Society: 2013)
  5. Distinguished Lindsay Lecture (Department of Chemical Engineering, Texas A&M University: 2013)
  6. Soft Matter Lectureship Award: 2013
  7. Excellence in Undergraduate Advising and Mentoring Award (University of Delaware: 2013)
  8. Senior Thesis Mentor Award (University of Delaware: 2013)
  9. Chaire Joliot Visiting Professor, Laboratoire PMMH, ESPCI, Paris: 2010
  10. Invited Participant (National Academy of Engineering Frontiers of Engineering: 2009)

Research Areas 

Colloid and polymer physics, microrheology, active and non-linear microrheology, controlled delivery of therapeutics, cell biophysics, complex fluid structure and rheology, particulate gels, directed self-assembly.

Office: 226 CLB
Phone: 302-831-0102
PeopleFacultyEric M. Furst